Career Counselin’ Ain’t Easy

Or so it would seem, based on the cost of it. Not that counseling is ever cheap, but this seems a little much. See, I’m working through my whole career search thing, and slower than I should. As I’ve mentioned before, I feel that it’s possible to have a job/career that you can enjoy and feel fulfilled and useful in. This leaves me operating from two base beliefs: 1- There’s a perfect job out there for me; 2- The one I’m in ain’t it.

I’m slowly…too slowly…working through the process of figuring out what I’d like to do once we move to Huntsville. I’ve been re-reading a book called ’48 Days to the Work You Love’ and took a “career” test that goes with it, but it was just a personality test. I’m a CS on the DISC scale….not exactly earth-shattering news and not something that really narrows down my job choices. I was then directed towards Crown ministries which mainly does financial counseling, but it turns out they’ve got a very thorough career test available, and they also made some recommendations of local career counselors. I’ve called both, with a returned call and good talk with one, and no response from the other.

The one I spoke with was very nice and we spent a half hour talking about what services he offered and how the time would be structured, and also about my situation and needs. I think that sitting down with him (on separate sides of a phone…nice work if you can get it) would do me some good, but it comes at a pretty steep price so I’m not jumping right away. As I expected to hear, part of the process of working with this guy is to take this career test thingy that Crown offers, and to then go over the results with him. Since I’d be paying for it myself either way, I decided to go ahead and take that, work through the results, and to then make the decision about seeking extra help.

It turns out that this test if pretty in-depth. I spent an hour or so working through the questions and came out with several good-sized reports as well as a couple of fairly thorough worksheets/action plans to help me get some actual use out of the pages and pages of paper that were produced. Now I’ve just got to sit down and actually work through those….and to listen to the audio files that go with. It’ll be a good process, just one that takes time.

Time. Yeah, that would be nice.

On the plus side, only 10 more days of work to go. Woohoo!!!

~ by Jason B on April 16, 2007.

One Response to “Career Counselin’ Ain’t Easy”

  1. Stick at it my friend

    Alex

Leave a Reply

 
